Mistah Kurtz- he dead.

Chinua Achebe
Chinua Achebe

Find Chinua Achebe’s critical comments on Conrad and write a short critique on Achebe’s views. Do you agree or disagree with him?

Although Chinua Achebe may have accused Joseph Conrad of being racist, Achebe also openly admitted that Conrad “is undoubtedly one of the great stylists of modern fiction and a good storyteller into the bargain”. Achebe’s point of view on Conrad as a modernist writer certainly supports what I learnt in our first tutorial about Conrad’s use of “frame narration, fragmented perspective, flashbacks and flash-forwards, psychologically laden symbolism” (1948 Greenblatt) and how he “helped develop modern narrative strategies” (1948 Greenblatt). After reading Heart of Darkness I can completely agree with Achebe in saying that Conrad has written an excellent story!

Yet Achebe also asks, referring to the River Thames and the Congo River respectively, “Is Conrad saying then that these two rivers are very different, one good, the other bad?” and affirms this argument to be true. I, however, disagree with Achebe. Not once whilst reading Heart of Darkness did I feel as though Conrad was trying to suggest to me, as the reader, that the River Thames is good and the Congo River is bad. Although two obviously different rivers in landscape, I believe it is a significant similarity of these two rivers that carries the narrative. Just as the Congo River leads to the heart of the darkness that is Africa, the River Thames leads to heart of the darkness that is England. For I do not believe that Conrad’s use of the word Darkness has any reference to the colour of the skin of the native Africans, but instead its meaning lies in the evil that can be found in the hearts of all men across the earth.

River Thames
River Thames
Congo River
Congo River

Works Cited

Achebe, Chinua. ” ‘An Image of Africa’: Racism in Conrad’s Heart of Darkness.” In Heart of Darkness: An Authoritative Text, Backgrounds and Sources, Criticism, ed. Robert Kimbrough. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, Inc., 1988. pp.251-261. Web. 08 Aug. 2015. <http://kirbyk.net/hod/image.of.africa.html>

Greenblatt, Stephen, ed. The Norton Anthology of English Literature: The Twentieth Century and After (Volume F). New York: W. W. Norton & Company, Inc., 2012. Print.

6 thoughts on “Mistah Kurtz- he dead.

  1. Hi Clare,
    thank you for sharing your thoughts on Achebe’s view of Joseph Conrad’s “Heart of Darkness.” I definitely agree that Conrad has constructed an excellent novel as well as the fact that Achebe has some valid points against Conrad’s novel. I really like how you appreciated Achebe’s views however took a stand against what you didn’t agree with. I too think he has some valid arguments, and some not so much. I really liked your own approach and view on the two separate rivers. It truly gave me further insight on my own thoughts on this question, which I also did for week two. The way you interpreted Conrad’s meaning is very intelligent, not only does it support your stand against Achebe’s opinion but also is very easy to understand as it supports the true message behind the novel; as the novel does make one question whether the ‘heart of darkness’ is in the Congo or is it in England. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Clare! I admire your incredible insight into Achebe’s response. I find it great that you’ve backed up your opinions with evidence. Although you’ve spoken from both sides, your perspective is well made and I found it interesting that you said “evil that can be found in the hearts of all men across the earth.” Achebe speaks more about the meaning of the words in Conrad’s Heart of Darkness rather than the excellent execution of those words. It’s interesting to see where people stand but I think you have formed a reasonable response that many people can agree with.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Clare,
    your last sentence really sums up how I interpreted Conrad’s novel. What is embedded in ‘Heart of Darkness’ is universal. The novels title is reflective of your last statement as I too believe that Conrad was highlighting that we all have the ability to be evil. Marlowe finds himself contemplating killing Kurtz and experiences a flash of ‘darkness’ himself .
    I like your interpretation of the River Thames and the Congo River and I find your explanation clear. You have a lucid opinion that I agree with.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes I think you are right here Clare. Achebe over-reacts to what he senses is a white-man’s prejudice. But Conrad was far from being prejudiced, indeed he suffered the fate of many “outsiders” in England who saw him as an odd-bod. Another great entry.
    MG

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment